I don’t pay dues.

My purpose in life, at the moment, is simply to enjoy life.  I’ve been somewhat serious in the past, no really sometimes I have, but I just can’t wrap my head around caring anymore.  I care about my work and stuff like that, but I do this blog for me and for anyone who wants to read it or look at the pictures.  It’s okay, you don’t have to read everything, if you just want to admire the images that is fine too.

I have been asked why I don’t shoot for too many magazines anymore, honestly, I hate playing the stupid game of being in the “boys club” which, there is a definite boys club out there when it comes to photography!  There is also the model club, the one where models suddenly become photographers because they can.

But I’m not part of any club, mostly because I don’t like paying dues, but also I think it is stupid.  A friend of mine dropped off a magazine that is supposed to be about art, fashion and photography.  Yeah, they had articles about great artists, some about great photographers, but the work was typical nude glamour shots that every male photographer on the west coast is currently trying to do.  And while I’m on my little rant, I was shooting this shit years ago!  So were a lot of very good photographers!

It is the same old shit and regurgitated crap.  Nothing new, they just pick the models by how many people follow them on Instagram.  So fucking original.

You have to have style if you want to ride with me.  It really is that simple.  I’m about having fun, getting in a good groove and just enjoying the ride.  I backed out of the scene a while back because I was sick of it.  But what I found was my own scene, my own little niche market of killer people to work with.  I like it this way.

I’m exploring new ideas, pushing myself to be more than just another photographer who shoots photos of young attractive women.  While that is what I do that is not what it is all about.  I have no desire to explain what it is all about, that is your job to figure it out.  I’m just here to do my thing, have fun and let the world revolve around me for a little while. 😉