Hidden Treasures

I’ve really been getting into art again.  I’m not sure where this road will take me but so far I’ve already got one gallery (a good one too) interested in seeing more of my work!

It was January of 2007 when I said to myself that I just wanted to be an artist.  No more side jobs, no more doing work I didn’t really want to do.  I just wanted to take pictures, make music and create stuff with my own hands from my own vision.  It has not been easy but I must say, I am really satisfied with how my life has been since then!

Since I made this statement to myself I have photographed hundreds of weddings, shot for many lookbooks, I don’t even know how many times I’ve had work published in magazines and I can’t even begin to count how many model shoots I have done.  The Archives are at almost 80,000 images and I still have more to upload!

But, with all of this, I feel as though I have missed something.  I am going back through old images and finding more artistic shots, more art, more of what I think I was really thinking of when I shot.  I was so focused on the shoot I forgot about the vision.  This is where I am heading back to at the moment.  What was the vision, not just setting up some lights and a concept, but what was the entire intention of the shoot?

I’m finding more and more gems in my collection of work.  I’ll also be making some cool new prints very shortly.  I know I had said I wanted to become a full functioning production studio, but that may have to wait a bit.  Art and making prints and art pieces has taken over my brain for a bit.  I want to make art because it makes me happy and it really fulfills the need to create.

Olivia by The Average Jim

Once again I will be returning to my own archives to find more hidden treasures, this also means that the members of The Collector’s Circle get to see some of my new work first and they will also be receiving some free gifts in the way of new art prints.  Some which will be sold only at one gallery in Palm Springs, as soon as the paperwork is signed that is…. oh legalities…

Hopefully you enjoy my new venture, there will still be more hijinks and fun shoots along this path, so stay tuned, I don’t have a road map so I’ll be making this up as I go.  So more like the same as usual. 😉