No Pressure

I take absolutely nothing seriously.  I life my life flying by the seat of my pants and not really aware of where I may end up.  I kind of like it this way.  No pressure at all for anything to right or wrong.  It just ends up the way it was meant to be.

I had a conversation last night with three young women, who may or may not be part of a project I am working on.  Two of them are 18 one is 19, and somehow the topic of conversation was boobs, and no I didn’t bring it up!  But this little conversation really inspired me, not because it was about boobs, but there was something there, something I had been looking for in my own work. There was a freedom involved in talking with them about photography, very different from when working in the industry.

This seems to be the direction I may want to head in with a lot of my work.  Less posed “model” type of work and more of just random shoots with cool people.  I’m not really trying to make a living off of this type of work anymore so it really gives me creative freedom.  While I still love working with models, I have two shoots this week with models, I am craving something different.

I think part of growing as a photographer is the need to explore more, the need to really figure out new ways of doing things, new technique, new subjects, I even got a new camera!  My entire studio and office now fits into one or two little bags!  I could actually just carry my old camera bag as my office.  My laptop, new camera and all of the gear needed to do everything literally fits into one side bag and weighs far less than just my old camera gear!

Nicole by The Average Jim

Yes, I am becoming The Average Minimalist.  I am downsizing, and it feels amazing to not have to lug around so much gear, even though I usually just had one body and my trusted 70-200mm lens.  But things are changing.  I’ll have some new images with the new camera later this week.

Okay, I might not truly be downsizing everything, I am building more to my playground in my backyard.  I’ve got a truckload of stuff coming in and I cannot wait for January so I can begin the upgrades!  I’ll also be working on pushing my own style of boudoir photography again.  I’ve had enough interest from clients, so this is something I really need to push.  I love it when people dig what I do enough to seek me out and offer to pay me. It makes marketing so much easier.

Nicole by The Average Jim

The coolest thing about all of this is that I really don’t feel like it is work.  This is playtime at the playground!  This is the way life should be, easy and chill.  Even though this year has had it’s definite down points, I feel as though it is all finally working out and things are looking good for me.  I’m sure I’ll change my mind about a doze more times before the end of this year, but so far my new plans seem to be working out.  I just have no patience when it comes to ideas, I generally want to get started right away.  But it will all happen, right now I’ll stick to talking to these young women and see where this next project takes me.  Who knows, this could lead to something completely different.  And I like it that way.  😉