Getting the Kinks Out

I’m about to go out on a limb with my work again.  The traditional way of doing things has never worked for me.  I’ve found that when I work with more traditional agency models, as cool as they are, and as willing as they are to do some very awesome concepts they are always thinking of their career.  I can’t blame them for this at all!  But when it comes to some concepts, nothing too out there even, as much as they love them, they don’t want to be a part of them.

I get it, I seriously do.  But this has led me to find alternative models who are really into art and into different ideas.  The intention of the images and the concepts are far more important than anything to them.  They want to be known for the art they are a part of rather than trying to book a gig with Target or Sears!

Neither model is better than the other, it is all about choosing the right model for the right job.  I am talking with a very cool model right now, she has some extensive art out there, everything from fetish to fashion and more!  Of course I feel that fashion is a fetish, a guy I know is more obsessed with what designer clothes someone wears in their Instagram photos than what the photo actually depicts!

This reminds me of an episode of American Dad where Stan tries to figure out his “kink” and was mad at Eileen because she liked to be spanked.  We all have a kink, and sometimes figuring it out is the fun part!  So yes, I will be figuring out my kinks for the new year.  I am not one to make resolutions, but this one might be worthwhile.  What is my kink?  What is my own fetish?  Maybe I have one maybe I’m like Stan and just want to try them all?

I will definitely be exploring all the ideas I have for my work in the coming months.  I have no idea how I am going to fund it all, maybe sell more memberships to The Archives where you can see all my work, edited and unedited.  I should also start pushing the Collector’s Circle again.  That is fun and forces me to create some really cool art! This month the members are getting a limited edition gift that is only for them!  It really does have its perks!

Kara by The Average Jim

But I have an assistant coming in to help me sell stuff, I suck at it!  I just like to give stuff away, my bank account doesn’t like that at all!  So obviously money isn’t a kink of mine, I can scratch that one off the list for sure because you know that is definitely not a roll of quarters in my pocket. 😉