90’s Baby, 80’s Mercedes

I was driving from Palm Springs back to Ventura today and as I was flipping through the radio stations, mostly because I couldn’t get my iPhone to connect to the music via USB or Bluetooth, I heard a song that I hadn’t heard before yet I really probably should have!  It was 80’s Mercedes.

I hate to break it to the songwriter(s) but I beat them too it long ago, except I just called it Naked Travels.  Granted, her version is catchy too.  I can’t say that I don’t agree with her, that style of the 80’s Mercedes Benz has something to it.  I had a 4 door sedan that was actually called the “sexiest car ever” by many different women!  I hated to see it go, but now I’m really considering buying another one.

Naked Travels was a fun project, one that came out of nowhere.  Unfortunately the car is no longer in my possession, I had to sell it due to needing way too much mechanical work.  But the good news is that I have so many photos to remind me of how awesome this car was!  It was one of the few cars I have owned, and I have owned a lot, that I don’t really remember the bad about it.  I know it needed a lot of work, but I just remember the good.  The smooth ride, the way it made me feel and it got great gas mileage!

I like my new Benz, I call him Hank.  My old one was Betsy, I know a traditional car name, but it fit her.  Hank is the new one, a little more brash, a little louder, definitely a little brother mentality and most certainly more trouble than he is worth!  But Hank is a fun car!  In need of new tires at the moment, but I’m working on that and I’m not sure if I really want to fix the dent my wife put in the front of him.

Olivia by The Average Jim

I am a car guy, and no matter what car I have from now on I will probably use it in a photo shoot.  I can’t help it, it is part of who I am.  I don’t really have much to say about it, except to be petty and say I did it first! Hahaha, of course I’m sure someone else has too, but it gives me a great reason to post more photos of Olivia, a 90’s baby in my old 80’s Mercedes and one more of Sky in my new Benz, Hank.  And what do you know, she’s a 90’s baby too.

Sky by The Average Jim