Cooler Than Most

There is something to be said for finding the right people to work with.  As I get older and hopefully at least a little wiser, I am noticing I have very little tolerance for ego and entitlement.  The industry has changed, I get that, but honestly, just because you are willing to take your clothes off doesn’t make you automatically worth more.

I was talking with a model and she seemed really cool at first.  We started talking ideas and she seemed into them.  Then I noticed something, she didn’t care about any of the ideas at all, she just wanted to book a paid gig.  The money was all that mattered because she “deserves” to get paid as she told me.

I can accept that, I have no problem paying someone who is going to do the job, but here is the thing.  If you think just showing up, being pretty and taking your clothes off is the job description you are wrong!  If and when I pay someone it is strictly because there is a specific job to do, here are the requirements and can you fit these requirements and perform your duty properly?  If one of those duties is to follow the concept then you need to follow the concept and not just pose like you do for everyone else.

Luckily I am better than I used to be and can now see this before I even shoot with people.  Which has turned into something even better because now when I work with models they are way cooler than most!  At least in my book, because they just have a great attitude, they want to be there working with me and it is a bonus when they get paid.

I want to work with people who love what they do as much as I love what I do.  These are the people who make my days enjoyable and honestly push me to do better work.  I don’t care how many followers you can get me on social media or about any of that crap.  Life is too short to care what people think of me online.  Hence me not really giving a shit what I type here.

Sky by The Average Jim

With my new project coming up I am working with models who want to work with me and who love the ideas I am shooting.  It really is that simple.  I’m not a complex guy, I lay it all out there.  My memory isn’t good enough for me to fake it ’til I make it, I’ll forget what it is I am faking!  I have enough ideas I can’t keep up with, who needs to keep up with bullshit to pretend to be something I’m not?

Sky by The Average Jim

I think part of my attitude adjustment towards working only with good people is the fact that I have been spoiled rotten.  I keep getting great people to work with who have great attitudes and are up for a fun shoot and just see where it goes.  I like this fly by the seat of our pants type of collaboration.  It just seems to work for me.

Sky by The Average Jim

Last week I shot with Sky.  We were going to shoot something in the morning and it just wasn’t going to work, so we improvised.  To me, this is someone worth working with.  Natural, real and a killer attitude.  No bullshit, no games and straight forward.  Plus she loved my ideas so that always makes me like someone!  I am still a little shallow, that part of me hasn’t gone away quite yet. 😉