Less is More

Shooting fashion and lifestyle over the years has given me a different perspective on portraits.  The traditional portrait, while still a necessity of the industry and still something to be understood technically, is something I have tried to stray away from.  I like a more natural feel, a more simplistic approach.  Plus I really do not like using studio lights with people who are not used to being in front of a camera.  It can be so intimidating and distracting.

Paige

Even when I work with professional models I like for there to be limited distractions.  Just a connection between myself and my subject.  We talk, we joke, I find out what they are thinking and where they are at in life.  To me this is the best way to get the portrait I want to take.  This is also what keeps my work consistent.

Paige

Maybe I’m to the point in my career where I just like to keep things simple and create pretty pictures.  I don’t see anything wrong in that.  I like it this way.  It is a lot of fun and it really keeps me in the zone I like to be in.  Just keeping it real and keeping it simple.  It gives me more time to focus on my subject, more time to get to know them and more time to enjoy my time with some pretty awesome individuals.