Dreams and Choices

There is actually so much I wanted to talk about today.  Between the great conversation I had with my wife last night to the great dreams I had and waking up with a positive feeling I just don’t even know where to begin.  I think I’ll just have to choose bits and pieces from everything.

My dream was very vague and it seemed more like a memory but not necessarily my own memory.  But I was about to purchase an old VW Bus, exactly like the one I used to own except of course all the changes I had wanted to make to it were already complete.  Now buying the bus wasn’t the inspirational part of the dream.  I can still feel the positive vibes flowing through me of how I felt sitting in the seat.

You see, my former bus was owned by my uncle, ironically today would have been his 82nd birthday.  Maybe that is why I had the dream?  But when I inherited his 77 VW Bus I just couldn’t believe it.  I had remembered riding in it as a kid, when he drove it to my house in Michigan and again when I would visit him in California.  I vividly remember riding in the back as we took PCH from LAX back through Malibu and stopping at the McDonald’s which is still there.  I was 12 when this happened and I can still remember the smell of the ocean air mixed with that vintage VW aroma.

This went back to what my wife had said last night.  She has opened a coffee house here in Palm Springs and we were talking about all the hours she is working.  She simply said, this is what I wanted, this is my job, this is my business.  And it wasn’t what she said as much as the way she said it.  She had this vision of opening this business in her head for 25 years and it has finally come to a reality.  She isn’t dreading the hours she has to put it, she is happy that she finally achieved what she has wanted for so many years.  She is owning it 100% and is incredibly happy doing it.

Monique by The Average Jim

After a having a day where I could have been stressed out beyond belief I ended up having one of the most peaceful nights of sleep ever.  Great dreams, positive vibe waking up and all because of simply listening to my wife.  This is my life, these are my choices and this is how I allow myself to live.  I can look at the people who surround my life and focus on the things they do which bring myself or others down or I can look at them and expect them to be a certain way.  When you expect it it suddenly becomes humorous.  And I don’t want to sound mean here, but I am here to help them if they need it or ask for it.  But sometimes you have to let others make their own decisions and learn from their own mistakes.

I’ve made my own mistakes over the years.  I have learned from some and had to make the same ones a few times to eventually learn from them.  I know I will still make mistakes in the future, but that is what life is all about.  We just do what we do and sometimes we realize we made a wrong turn somewhere.  It’s okay, it happens.  The fact is, if we still get to wake up every morning that means we have a change at making the right turn, making the right decision and moving forward with our lives.