I’m There.

There is a certain point in your photography career when you realize what you are trying to accomplish and no matter who gets it or who does or does not understand it you really just don’t care.  I think I have hit this point.

I am at a point where certain models totally don’t understand my concepts, and some really do.  I’m also at a point where even some clients totally do not get all of my concepts.  This is why I have been eliminating some client based work.  I have also refrained from calling myself an artist, mostly because I don’t want to seem as pretentious as I probably am.

If there is one thing I am wanting to add more to my work it is sarcasm.  Pushing the issue, breaking boundaries and probably offending a few people along the way.  But I just can’t bring myself to care what others may think of any of my work anymore.  Good or bad, I am just doing this for me.

I have made a habit of offending some people in the industry, but if you’re all butt hurt because I said you bought a bunch of lame actions from a faux-tographer well then maybe there is a little more truth to what I said than what you think there may be?  I’ve said this before, I do not know everything, but I’ve been around long enough to see the BS from a mile away.  I was almost a person who was going to push my own form of BS onto other photographers.

Olivia by The Average Jim

Yes I think I have a lot to offer newer photographers, but I also have a lot of bitterness and resentment of the industry.  I am jaded, I don’t like the snake oil salesmen that this industry cranks out year after year.  This is why I have chosen to remove myself from the entire situation.  I will never quit taking pictures, even though this was a serious thought earlier this year.

Olivia by The Average Jim

Instead I am going to say fuck it and just do what I want.  I am not seeking gallery representation, I am not seeking publications to submit to and I am not out to please anybody but myself.  This is the freedom I feel I deserve.  Whether or not I make any money, who knows?  But I will figure that out when the time comes.  For now I’m just into this whole process of discovery again.  Discovering where my work will take me and what trouble it will cause again.  I like this little adventure I’m about to embark on.  I may have to start a go fund me account for future bail money….. 😉