New Adventures

I am more of a loner than people think.  I have this very outgoing, extroverted personality but I also really like spending time alone.  Maybe it is the voices in my head, but when I’m alone I really don’t feel alone.  The ideas seem to come to me when I have no distractions.  I feel as though it is a very Don Draper type of inspiration.  Lay on the couch, sometimes after having a few too many, and just think.  I will let my mind wander off in thought and see where it takes me.

There are times when it works better than others and if I get distracted my ideas are never completed.  This is why I really like my alone time.  No distractions, nobody interrupting me and I even shut my phone off.  The solitude is my friend and is the main way I channel all of my energy into what I do.  It is even how I work on music.

This is also how I want to expand on ideas I have already begun.  I wrapped up my Naked Travels project earlier this year and while I absolutely loved this project I want to expand.  The idea was based on my 1984 Mercedes Benz 300d.  I had photographed many models in this car, sometimes just as an added prop to the shoot or we wanted another look and I’d say lets hop in the Benz.

What I noticed was how everyone had a different take on how they wanted to pose in this car.  Some models who didn’t want to do nudes suddenly wanted a nude photo in the back seat of this car.  Some wanted to do fashion, some just automatically took off their clothes.  I honestly had very little to do with direction.  I would just say, hop in the car, get your own groove on and lets run with it.

Audrey by The Average Jim

Unfortunately I had to sell this wonderful automobile.  It needed too much work and I just could not hold on to it any longer.  But the good news is that I have a newer Benz!  The better news is that I have new ideas to go along with the new car.  While I will still want to run with whatever happens, I have some definite ideas, concepts and situations to include with this car and the models who find themselves along for the ride.

Des by The Average Jim

Amanda by The Average Jim

I think what I like about shooting with the car is that we get to disappear from the rest of the world while shooting.  We can be driving in the middle of a city full of people yet we have our own little bubble of solitude.  The privacy of the car is something which gives us comfort.  Maybe this is one of the reasons we have such a love affair with cars in this country?

Brittney by The Average Jim

So many songs have been written about love in the backseat of a car.  It has been a scene in so many movies and TV shows that it is just an American thing to do to make out in the back seat!  I think this is partially what has helped with my Naked Travels project, you just get the vibe that you want to automatically undress when you’re in the back seat of a car!

Monique by The Average Jim

Nathalia by The Average Jim

I have included many of the images in today’s post from the Naked Travels book.  There are too many to share in one post and hundreds in the book.  This was such a fun project to shoot, I met so many great models in the process.  I can’t wait to see what adventures my new car brings.  It will never be the same, but life goes on and the adventure must continue!

Tori by The Average Jim