Work Hard. Be You.

I saw a really cool interview the other day.  Too bad I can’t remember the person who was speaking, my friend posted in on Facebook and I just watched it without really thinking about who this guy might be.

But he was talking about how working harder than someone else may actually take you farther than talent alone.  This is very true.  But it also goes slightly against what another guy says who wrote a book and has this whole theory called Strengthfinders.  It is a test you take and it tells you what your strengths are.

I will get back to the first guy soon, but about 6 years ago I took the Strengthfinders test.  My strengths were my ideas, the creation of the ideas and getting people interested in these ideas.  It also said I was creative in more than one area.  Honestly, anyone whoever met me can tell me this.  I’ve been a musician, photographer and artist for most of my life!

But one part of this test talked about how if you have strong abilities in a certain area and you pursue these strengths you will go farther than others because not only do you strive to do well you are naturally more gifted to do well.  They like to use the analogy of “Rudy”, the real life guy from the movie about a kid who said he was going to play for Notre Dame University’s football team even though he wasn’t the best player nor anywhere near the size needed to be one.

Kara by The Average Jim

They said how Joe Montana could be better than him with very little effort because Joe Montana was naturally gifted and because he worked as hard as Rudy he made it to the pro level and won multiple Super Bowls.  But here is where I argue.  Rudy wasn’t trying to win a Super Bowl.

Kara by The Average Jim

Rudy is now a motivational speaker.  If you have seen the movie Rudy only got to play (spoiler alert) because the rest of the team was willing to give up their own spot just so he could suit up for the final game.  He was their motivation.  He wasn’t there to make plays, he was there to inspire and to motivate.  And he did that then and he is now doing it in his real life.

Kara by The Average Jim

So back to the first guy.  He said someone who works harder will most likely do better than someone who doesn’t work as hard.  This seems legit too.  But here is something to think about.  What if you suck at what you do?  Seriously.  Who cares if you blog every day if your blog is filled with content that nobody wants to read or look at?  I know my blog isn’t for everyone, and I’ve lost followers over the years because of my rants and use of the work “fuck” on many occasions.

Kara by The Average Jim

The point is you have to be somewhat good at something and highly motivated to get better or to just push yourself to do whatever it is you want to do!  There are a million photographers out there and I no longer wish to compete with them for the prize of shooting for a no-name magazine who will pay you with “exposure”.  Fuck that.

Kara by The Average Jim

After reading Strenghfinders and watching this one guy speak about working hard there is just one thing left for me to do.  Blog a lot, shoot a lot and run my mouth as often as possible because this is what I am good at.  I love to shoot funky cool ideas and working with models is seriously a lot of fun!

Kara by The Average Jim

I feel like I have my groove back.  Not that it was gone but I was seriously frustrated with the industry for a very long time and didn’t really know where to go.  But I realized I don’t need to go anywhere.  I can just stay right here where I am doing exactly what I do.  I have another gallery show coming up next week.  I’m showcasing my “Polaroid Smut” imagery again and maybe I can sell some more one-of-a-kind “art”.

Kara by The Average Jim

Now that my groove is back I should reach out to Kara again, she and I tend to always take our shoots to 11.  I wonder what we would come up with if we shot again?  Today’s images are from our 2nd shoot together, these are some outtakes from the editorial that ran in Cake-Mag.

Kara by The Average Jim

Here is to being whoever the fuck you are.  Embrace it, own it, and always be who you truly are.  There is nothing like walking through the middle of a crowd with both middle fingers flying high in the air!