Just Roll With It

I love days like these!  The ideas are running through my head and I can’t wait to start work on my new projects.  I’ve gone back to writing all of them down in a notebook because I can’t keep up with them any other way.  I am not sure how or where this new bit of inspiration has come from but I am riding this wave for as long as I can!

I think it has to do with the unrealistic amount of frustration I have had over the past several months.  Life should not be this difficult.  Between people not doing their job, people not following through and just a whole bunch of other BS I was going crazy and my creativity was seriously lacking.

About 3 weeks ago I said fuck it.  I started getting rid of stuff I didn’t need anymore.  I started selling music gear and photo gear and just started to rid myself of the clutter.  I cut out TV, actually turned off my cable and have not watched a commercial in a few weeks now.  I feel really good!  I also started watching some of my favorite movies again, this is a great way to get inspired.

I am trying to clean out my office, it is a mess!  But things are starting to go away, the frustration is going away and I can feel this burst of energy building inside of me, in a good way.  I am excited again.  This is how I like to live, not dealing with the crap that gets in the way when other people bring their shit to the table.

Danielle by The Average Jim

I feel ready to take on the challenges I have given myself for this fall and into the new year ahead.  I’m not one for creating goals for myself, more about rising to the challenge to go where I have yet to go with my work.  Not just photography, but film making and a few other little projects I have my hands into already.

Danielle by The Average Jim

People think I like to chill and not work, I may give off that vibe but I really like to work, especially on my own projects.  I like to push myself.  I like deadlines and putting in long hours so I can be proud of what I have accomplished.  I like the feeling of finishing a project or seeing a vision come to life.  As simple as the vision may be at times.

Danielle by The Average Jim

One of my new projects is something that came out of one of my old projects.  Funny how that works and how they can inspire something new.  This is why I need to clean out my office and my head.  The clutter never helps until you start to strip it away and see all of the notes you have made, all of the ideas you have written down and suddenly they all make sense.  As much as I hate the clutter I don’t think I could do what I do without it.

Danielle by The Average Jim

The magazines and movies that surround me, the books and photos and random props that have gathered around my work space are all there for a reason.  Inspiration is a funny thing.  It gets you when you least expect it.

Danielle by The Average Jim