The Asshole Jim

Normally I am a very laid back person.  Yes I will go on rants and get pissed off about certain bullshit in my little world.  But overall I am a very calm, relaxed person, except for lately.  Lately I have actually been anxious and frustrated, mostly my own doing and when I take a step back and take a good long look at it I discovered something about myself.  I am kind of an asshole, but the good kind of asshole.

I think there is a misconception of what it is I do.  For some reason some people think I photograph women as a reason to get close to them.  Nope, wrong answer.  Some people think I photograph women to get attention on the internet.  Nope, wrong again.  Some people think I just want to objectify the women I photograph.  That would be strike three!

Want to know why I photograph women?  Because it is fun!  I stumbled into this profession and I just happened to be good at it too.  And while I have been known to say that there is nothing “fine” about my “art” I do still consider a lot of what I do to be art.  Whether it is actual artistic photography or just a conceptual art type of project there is still artistic intention behind the images.

Des by The Average Jim

So while some will still say I am just making that up and they will believe what they want to believe, oh well, fuck it, I can’t make everyone happy.  All I can do is focus on myself and what makes me happy.  And if this makes me an asshole then I am exactly that!  I can live with this.  I honestly care about people, I want everyone to have an amazing life and to never have to struggle to survive in this crazy world.  I am that old hippie who strives for world peace, the problem is that I am also a realist.  This means I won’t tolerate your bullshit.

Mac by The Average Jim

I’m not the world’s greatest artist, and not the world’s greatest photographer either.  I am just me.  Unrelenting and unmerciful in many ways.  And for the most part I am unapologetic.  I have never intentionally done someone wrong, maybe they have not liked the outcome of something or they misunderstood what it was we agreed upon, but I never lied to them and never tried to get them to do something they didn’t want to do.

Olivia by The Average Jim

I have had a few shoots where people couldn’t and wouldn’t keep their clothes on.  They wanted to pose for all of these nude images, and I’m not talking about nip slips, they fully undress for the camera and willingly pose, sometimes they have to convince me to keep taking photos!  Some of these shoots have created some of my favorite images of all time, I can’t lie, in these situations the models have been right!

Codi by The Average Jim

I also have a model friend, who I really need to photograph again soon, who doesn’t pose nude, but we get some of the best “implied” nude shots ever because she trusts me not to post the nip slips.  So see, I’m not out to just objectify.

Olivia by The Average Jim

Honestly, all of my new work is about art, one way or the other it really is.  I have conceptual projects going on and this is where some people may not like what I do.  Oh well, I’m not here to make everyone happy, I’m here just to be who I am.  Good, bad or whatever that may be.  Does that make me an asshole?  Maybe, but oh well, life goes on.