A Cold Day in Chicago

Once again I was scrounging through my archives, trying to get them a little more organized and failing miserably.  But I stumbled upon this shoot I had a couple of years ago, maybe more than a couple of years ago.  This was when I was in Chicago back in 2013, so almost 3 years ago.

I had a casting up online and I had some okay response, but when Emmy responded I could tell we were on the same page for the idea behind this shoot.  It was one of those shoots that was meant to be, at least I think it probably was.

We had loosely discussed what we were going to shoot and when she got there she looked at other work I had done and I told her I had some ideas for magazine submissions and she loved them!  This was a shoot that went from just a cool, fun lingerie/semi nude shoot to a full on killer editorial!

Emmy by The Average Jim

Emmy by The Average Jim

I love connecting with people like this.  It tuned into that shoot you talk about years later with other photographers and models.   There were very limited boundaries as far as photography was concerned.  She knew what I was going for and trusted me to stick within her comfort zone.  This trust and understanding is what made this shoot come out as good as it did.

Emmy by The Average Jim

I have often thought of working with her again, but part of me wants to leave the good memories be and to just enjoy the fact that we had such an amazing shoot together.  It may happen again someday, or it may not.  Either way I feel very lucky to have worked with someone who just seemed to “get it” and who was really in it to create the best images we possibly could have that day.

Emmy by The Average Jim