The Average Sweat Shop

With all of my rants and frustrations with photography I have really thought this out.  I need to do something that will bring me more frustration just so I can go back to having this deep passion for photography!  That is how it all works right?

Why not start a whole new business that will do nothing but drain my bank account and frustrate the hell out of me?  But this will take all of the negativity away from photography!

Hopefully you see my sarcastic statement for what it is.  I love what I do, and part of truly loving what you do means you will at times become very frustrated and just want to throw it all away and find something else to do.  But then you realize you love what you do and are drawn back into it over and over no matter how many times it burns you.

Having passion for an art is a lot like insanity, where you do the same thing over and over again and expect different results.  But when it comes to art, you can actually expect different results.  No wonder I feel a little crazy and lost at the same time all of the time!

I have decided to say “fuck it” to all the rules, even the ones I have given to myself.  There are some new rules, we will see how long these will last but I am slightly proud of myself for something I did recently.  I was asked to shoot for a magazine, they have a pretty good following on social media but they were not paying.  Well, this isn’t happening anymore.  I refuse to work for anyone who isn’t paying me, except for myself, I never pay me, I know how much of a slacker I can be.

Olivia by The Average Jim

I don’t mind TF, but making a magazine popular or shooting with a model because she has a huge instagram following is just stupid.  Seriously, even if she credits you her followers don’t care who you are unless you have some naked photos of her hidden away somewhere, then you might get a handful of new followers for a month.  But now I’m really going down the rabbit hole and actually hiring people for real work from my real business!

Olivia by The Average Jim

Olivia by The Average Jim

I will be launching a whole bunch of new products starting in September.  For now I will just share with you my new T-Shirt design, currently pre-selling for only $20 plus shipping.  But the good news is that I will have some fun products, kind of art meets every day needs.  My goal is to make you want the things you need.  Or something like that.

Olivia by The Average Jim

These images are from a recent mentoring session I did with a very cool new (to model photography) photographer.  At the end of the session I had already had planned to shoot this series with Olivia, but instead of waiting until my student left I let him stick around and he also got some amazing shots of this set.  But for now, here are mine. (top image is the T-Shirt that is available)