The Average Retirement

I’m in a mood.  A mood to sell everything, or nearly everything I own and just focus on the art I want to create and maybe a few other projects here and there.  I am also in a mood because I keep getting requests from people who want everything for free.

Photographers want me to teach them my methods for free, clothing companies want to send me clothes to give to models to have them pose for their brand but they don’t want to give me anything.  I’m over it.  I hate money but why would I spend so much time giving stuff away?  That doesn’t make any sense at all.

I’m going back to my philosophical days of just doing what I want to do and figuring out the rest along the way.  I just want to shoot what I want, if someone wants to pay me for it then awesome, if not, oh well.  And right now, I don’t feel like mentoring people for free or teaching workshops for free.  So that won’t be happening anytime soon.  There will most likely not an Average Jim Workshop in 2016.  One every two or three years is enough.  Or maybe I won’t ever do one again, but never say never, that is when it happens.

The other day I was ready to retire from this crazy business.  But then I realized that it isn’t the business that bothers me.  It is just some of the people.  Some people really just suck the life out of you!  They make you want to just bash your head into a wall because that would feel better than talking to them any longer.

This is when I starting going through my files again and I realized that I had met some awesome people and worked with some awesome people over the past year and some.  I have done a really good job at doing away with the ones who drive me crazy.  It is just that every once in a while some of the crazy ones slip through the cracks and find their way to my inbox.

Olivia by The Average Jim

So if you are reading this please take note.  I am not doing anything I don’t want to do for free.  If you send me a message, email, smoke signal or whatever and you don’t hear back from me, take that as a no.  If you do hear back from me and I quote you an ungodly sum of money, take that as either a “fuck off” or feel free to pay me the rate I quoted.

Olivia by The Average Jim

A couple of months ago I had a pretty amazing shoot with Olivia North.  And this shoot is kind of where I see my work going.  We spent the day shooting, talking, hanging out, and really just exploring different ideas.  So now this is really all I want to do.  I’ll be working with cool people, exploring concepts and not restricting my shoot time.  It will probably end up costing me more money as I will have to definitely hire models for a complete day, except for the few friends I have who will love to be on board with a shoot like this.  But I think in the end it will all be worth it.

Olivia by The Average Jim

The days of free stuff are mostly over, the days of me doing commercial work are most likely over.  But the days of me being creative, exploring new ideas and just seeing what happens are just beginning again.  And this is a path I like to be on.  I won’t be retiring from photography, just retiring from all of the bullshit other people like to give you.  I like this, so yes, consider me retired. 😉

Olivia by The Average Jim