MIA Jim

I have been so damn busy lately that I have not had a chance to post on the blog!  I did a really cool shoot, which I am still editing and will be posting here soon, but then I also got tied up with other work.

Just when I said I wasn’t going to do commercial work, I get an offer which was too hard to refuse!  Return clients hit me up, and I’ve been also working on my wife’s new business getting all that ready for her.

This weekend is the second weekend of the Coachella Music Festival, and I just happen to be attending and shooting there today!  So not only am I slightly behind on the blog but I’ve got more stuff coming up, including the Palm Springs Photo Festival.

Oblivian by The Average Jim

Oblivian by The Average Jim

Every time I try to slow down I get busy, and it all just sort of happens.  We have a house full of guests coming in for the festival, family is moving in and visiting and I’m finally moving my home office over to a side of the house with fewer distractions!  Yes, I now have my own wing with full bar and loft!

One of my new ideas is actually an old idea which I just want to revamp.  I absolutely love gritty, sometimes even blurry images which look very amateurish but are completely done on purpose.  I was loading images to The Archives and I found a great set of a once hopeful Suicide Girl named “Oblivian” and this was one of those shoots where I wanted that gritty, hanging out in my old basement drinking beers type of look.

Oblivion by The Average Jim

I love the imperfections.  I love the vibe.  I know it isn’t for everyone but I just dig the style of making images look like we were just hanging out and taking some pictures, which is what we were doing, but not having it look so professional.

Oblivion by The Average Jim

I have spent years of being a professional photographer to just want to shoot with crappy little point and shoot cameras and expired film.  But as Helmut Newton always said, it isn’t the camera, it is the photographer.  Wish me luck this weekend, and over the next two weeks, I’m going to be slammed!

Oblivion by The Average Jim