Experimentation

One thing I love about going through The Archives is finding old shoots that I had almost forgotten about.  Sometimes I’ll put a shoot aside because the edits are on one hard drive and the unedited are backed up on another.  And since I switched from Mac to PC not all of my old hard drives are immediately accessible to me because these two different computers which run off the same type of software won’t let you just move from computer to computer.

But what this does is allow me to re-edit some of my older work with some of my new editing techniques.  Sometimes it completely changes the vibe of what the shoot originally was or it will make it so I can now actually edit the photos how I envisioned in the first place!  Or it is a complete mixture of both.

My second shoot with Cassandra is one of those sessions where I have the edits on one hard drive and the originals on another.  But it is also one of those sessions where my vision didn’t match my post-production skills at the time.  Or at least I wasn’t doing things the way I wanted to back then.

I really love diving into my older images and seeing what I can do with them.  Some people just want to keep shooting new work but I always want to explore my older stuff just to see if there is something in there I missed the first time around, and usually there is.

These are just some experimental edits from this session with Cassandra Dawn.  Many were images I passed over on my first time through years ago when we shot these.  I also just loaded this entire set to The Archives. 🙂

Cassandra by The Average Jim

Cassandra by The Average Jim

Cassandra by The Average Jim