Any Average Jim Day

So many changes happening these days.  I’m not having as much time to blog because I’m actually working more.  Not shooting more, just working more.  I’ve had to rearrange my schedule, move shoots that were supposed to take place either last month or this month and move them until later on.  I might be shooting tomorrow, or I might not, just waiting for the model to confirm.

I’m helping my wife open a new business, I’m now running the other studio we have most of the time as she is running her new business.  I will be volunteering at the Palm Springs Photo Festival the day after I will have been at the Coachella Music Festival.  I just got an offer to shoot at Stagecoach right after I end my volunteer work with the PSPF, not sure if I’m taking that gig, even though I could pay my rent with it.

This got me to thinking of how crazy my life can be at times.  It isn’t stressful, it is just crazy and fun!  It reminded me of a certain story which ties in with these images of Sydney today.  This is a typical day in the life of The Average Jim.  And no I’m not kidding, what you are about to read is a true story, I hope I don’t forget any of the facts!

Sydney and I had just shot a little while before this shoot.  But we were friends, she is good people and I had sent her an image of another model at the beach and said “we should do a shoot like this” and she had apparently just posted the same image on her Facebook page so we set up the shoot.  We always kind of had the same taste in images.  But on with the story.

While driving to the shoot I was talking to her about another idea I had for a couples shoot, this is when I found out she had just broken up with her long time boyfriend.  I thought to myself, “oh shit, is she going to be in any mood to shoot?” But instead she was super cool and actually we joked about finding her a hot male model to shoot with or that my camera could be her boyfriend!

Sydney by The Average Jim

We did our shoot, nobody was on the beach that day so no worries about her lack of clothing at the end of the shoot.  We then drove back to my studio.  This is where I need to tell a little bit of a precursor to the story.

Sydney by The Average Jim

A couple of days before this shoot I had done a senior portrait session.  Nothing crazy, just my hazy style in a field with long grass swaying in front of a 17 year old girl with killer long hair.  What I didn’t know is that this girls grandparents were on their way to my studio from out of town at the same time I was heading back with Sydney.

Yet another precursor.  Another model friend of ours was staying with us and had been in a car accident just a couple of weeks before.  She had a broken foot and was using medical marijuana to cope with the pain.

Sydney by The Average Jim

Back to me driving back to the studio with Sydney.  As we pull in the parking lot I had one last idea to shoot.  So I back up my SUV to the front of my studio where I like to shoot.  I had these big sliding glass doors and side windows, about 16 feet wide and 12 feet tall.  Great for reflecting light.

Sydney is in the back of my SUV (last photo shown here) wearing nothing but some black underwear bottoms.  We shoot about 20 frames when all of a sudden the grandparents of the 17 year old girl I shot pull into the parking lot.  This is when it becomes like a bad sitcom.

Sydney by The Average Jim

I close the back door on Sydney, move the SUV as fast as possible over to a different parking space as she is crawling half naked into the passenger seat so she can change back into her clothes out of sight of my client’s grandparents.  I run back over to the door and say “hello, I didn’t know you were coming by” they tell me how they are there to pick up a disc of the images and my wife had told them to come by.

As I invite them in I open the door to my studio, not yet having been inside since returning from the beach, and you can see and smell the pot smoke while hearing the giggles of my model friend and brother-in-law in the back room.  As this happens they see Sydney hopping out of the front of my SUV with no shoes on, her shirt is not buttoned properly and her hair is a mess.  The grandfather has a smirk on his face and the grandmother does not.

Sydney by The Average Jim

As they left my wife laughs, I am just standing there like what the fuck just happened and from the back room my friend asks if they are gone because they want to take another hit.

Sydney by The Average Jim

Welcome to my life.  It is about as random as it gets and something new happens every single day.  I live in a sitcom, if I told you about my past two days you probably wouldn’t believe it!  But I’ll save that for another blog post.

Sydney by The Average Jim

This is what happens when you drive around with a semi-nude model, have an injured model at your place and have just photographed a senior in high school the day before.  At least this is what happens to me.

Sydney by The Average Jim

Hope you enjoyed this little story.  And FYI, I just added the images of Sydney to The Archives yesterday, currently over 50,000 images in The Archives and growing every day!