Payment Required

I always feel like an asshole when I tell people I have to charge for something that isn’t tangible.  But at the same time I don’t feel like an asshole because this is what I do for a living.

At least once or twice a week I get an email or message asking for advice from other photographers.  Some are newer to the industry and some have been around for quite a while.  Just yesterday a guy asked me if his son could contact me because he is a photographer and if he had questions blah blah blah.  He was a nice guy and I’m sure his son is a nice person as well.  But I had to say, well I charge for that.

I’m all for photography small talk, but when it comes to full on advice and talking about how they can get more work or a portfolio review, this is based on my experience, knowledge and all of the crazy stuff I’ve learned by my own mistakes!  I just can’t give it away for free and let someone else use all I have learned.  I also get a lot of people asking to assist me, just so you know, I have a huge list of people waiting to be an assistant!  I wonder why?

So maybe I’m an asshole, maybe not.  Personally I think not because those who do actually pay seem to appreciate what I have to offer.  Honestly I don’t think about it too often, at least not until I get multiple requests in a week or so.  Of course a lot of the time the best thing to make the requests go away is to send them your rates.  Some people just don’t want to pay for anything, yet they always want to be paid.

Cortney by The Average Jim

I even got an email the other day from someone who wanted access to The Archives but didn’t want to pay for them.  He actually asked for the password for free because he has been a long time follower of my work and was “just curious” to see the rest of my work.  If you are a long time follower you should know that I am not one to just give away stuff for free.  I hate money, but I’m not stupid.

Cortney by The Average Jim

 

Money always seems to get in the way of things, but I refuse to let it get in the way of me having fun!  Plus I really have to thank my supporters.  All of them from The Collector’s Circle to the subscribers of The Archives.  Every cent they have contributed has gone to me bettering The Playground and pursuing my ideas and creating bigger and better shoots!  I have some big plans for my work this year, and I am pretty sure those who like seeing the work I post here will love what is on schedule for the next few months!

Cortney by The Average Jim

Let the fun begin, and just remember kids…. If you want to learn something from me, need advice or just want to look at all of the work I have done.  The easiest way to get a positive answer from me is simple.  Pay me. 😉

Cortney by The Average Jim

Hope you enjoyed this set of Cortney Palm (she was in the movie Zombeavers) and FYI, this entire shoot is loaded in The Archives.