In The Moments

I really want to start pushing my own creative boundaries.  I just had an amazing shoot the other day and I seriously loved the results.  It will be published soon, and I can’t share it until it comes out.  But I loved the entire creative process of this last shoot.

I had a general idea of what I wanted to do but then the model just embraced everything I said and every idea I had and ran with it.  No inhibitions and just a pure desire to create great imagery.  I love working with people like this.  And I have been really lucky to work with people like this over the span of my photography career.

What I love most about working with good people is the connection we make.  It is this understanding of each other’s ideas and intentions.  This is where inspiration can lead us all down a very cool path.  It is this exploration of ideas where I really feel as though I expand myself as a photographer.  Even the simplest of portraits suddenly have more life to them because of this little bit of magic which appears when the connection happens.

For what it’s worth, I’m not really someone who has a ton of friends I hang out with.  While being an extrovert, I also love the quiet of being home alone with my thoughts.  I think this is why I really like to make a connection with the person I am photographing.  For just a brief moment in time we let each other into our world and let down our walls, or sometimes just let each other inside the walls while we block out the world together.

Danielle by The Average Jim

I’m not trying to be all metaphorical and stuff.  But I don’t know how else to describe it.  The fact is, there are a lot of people who I will never see again after we shoot.  I have even had a second or third shoot with someone before and it is funny how the chemistry will change.  Sometimes it will get stronger because of the trust we have already established, or sometimes it will get weaker because the real world will have interrupted our own little land of make-believe.

Danielle by The Average Jim

I remember photographing a boudoir client and because of her real job I cannot show any images of her online.  But we had an amazing shoot and we both had such a great feeling about it.  When she came in to pick up her photos we had talked about shooting again, but I could tell it would never happen.  She loved being in front of the camera but her boyfriend would not be into that, plus she loved her job.  She may contact me for a private session again, but I’m not counting on it.  We had our moment, it was a positive experience for both of us, and this is what it is all about.

Danielle by The Average Jim

The romance of photography is not about hooking up or dating or anything physical.  It is about magic and the entire experience of being let into someones life.  Even if it only lasts for a 45 minute shoot.  The photographs and memories stay with you forever.  Hopefully my subjects feel the same.

Danielle by The Average Jim