The Hipster Jim

I was called a hipster a while back.  Like years ago when the whole hipster movement was starting.  The person who called me that was another photographer friend.  She said I was the ultimate hipster, without the expensive hair cut.

I love cheap American beer, yes PBR was in my fridge before it was cool again.  I have a decent collection of vinyl records, a lot of it is the inspirational stuff for bands like Mumford and Sons and all of those acoustic, folk style bands of today.  I shoot film, non-exclusively, but I still shoot film.  I have several different types of musically instruments which I actually know how to play.  So apparently I am a hipster.

Personally, I just collect things I like.  I don’t go out of my way to get them, but when I see a violin in a thrift store for $20, I buy it!  My office is cluttered with what my brother in law calls a “hipster’s wet dream” of random objects.  It is actually kind of funny when you look at my work space.

Random nude photos of women, a lot of instant photos, in a stack on my desk.  3 computers, vintage photos, many notebooks, I write notes to myself and whenever I have an idea I have to jot it down.  I usually have 4-5 current notebooks near my desk at all times.  Vinyl records everywhere, along with books.  Everything from novels to art books to reference.  I know there is a thing called googled but every now and then I like to actually open a book of information.

Desirey by The Average Jim

This is my life of random stuff.  But this is also how I end up shooting some cool editorials!  A lot of the stuff you’ve seen in my work is my own personal collection of stuff.  When I stylize a shoot I tend to do it based on my thrift shop finds and certain items from my personal collection.  This is how I ended up shooting in my Mercedes, it was a better prop than it was mode of transportation!

Desirey by The Average Jim

Desirey by The Average Jim

I would like to clarify that I am not a hoarder.  I hate clutter and a mess, although you wouldn’t be able to tell that from looking at my desk.  If it doesn’t fit on the shelves or in my storage space in my garage and if it doesn’t have an actual place in my house it is time to sell it on Craigslist.  There is always time to re-home the good stuff.

Desirey by The Average Jim

One thing I have yet to shoot with is my movie collection, that would be a cool shoot.  I will have to make a note of that so I don’t forget. 😉