Americana Glam

“I really like to mix styles when I photograph women.  Since I have a background in fashion, glamour, fine art, portrait and boudoir photography I don’t see why I shouldn’t be able to combine all of these styles into one.  This is what I call “Americana Glam”.  It was actually a friend of mine who came up with this term to describe my work and this description has worked for me ever since!

This session with Codi was a perfect description of what Americana Glam is.  We started out in a vacant lot, moved to my favorite Mercedes and finally onto the couch for some lingerie photos.  Combining the editorial style with a West Coast American vibe and throwing in a little bit of lingerie gives this type of boudoir session a whole new meaning!

Boudoir is no longer just meant for the bedroom, it is for the brave.”

I made this post on another blog last year.  But I wanted to add to it and bring it on over to this site.  Until recently I had five different blogs for my photography work, six if you count my wedding work!  Honestly, it was too hard to keep track of and too hard to know which photos had been posted where.  Now I will just be making all of the posts here on this site and all of the domains will be pointed to this site as well.  This goes for Americana Glam, Naked Travels, The Seduction Sessions and possibly my Practicing Beach Bum site as well.

Codi by The Average Jim

I love blogging.  It is such a part of my creative process and a great outlet for myself as well as my work!  I have always been a writer of some sort.  In school I loved writing short stories, I have also written many songs.  I was a touring musician for a little while, playing in bands, writing music, drinking a lot and really loving the freedom and lack of responsibility which comes with that lifestyle.  Now I don’t tour, I just play at small venues, do the occasional big gig with a band I play with out of NYC and take some pictures of women in my ever growing spare time.

Codi by The Average Jim

Codi by The Average Jim

Codi by The Average Jim

My whole goal with this theme of Americana Glam is to bring fashion editorial type of shots to everyone.  I am so sick of boudoir photography being lame!  I love photographing non-model women in this style.  I find it to be very flattering, because Victoria’s Secret lingerie does not fit everyone properly! And some women just look amazing in a pair of jeans and t-shirt!

Codi by The Average Jim

Codi by The Average Jim

Yes, lingerie can be sexy on everyone, but the whole key is wearing it properly, or improperly in a seductive way.  But that is the whole idea behind this style.  It is not about a cheesy glamour session in a shitty studio.  It is about embracing your world, your life, your style and realizing that the real world is a lot sexier and cooler than you could ever believe!

Codi by The Average Jim

Codi by The Average Jim

I’ll be shooting more sessions like this soon, can’t wait to post them here! Plus this session was just added to The Archives today!