New Look

For those of you who have been following my blog for a while you may have noticed a slight change in the look of this site.  I’ve been working on a new design for a little bit and I think this is what I like best!  I will be getting rid of my main website shortly and will be back to using this blog as my main website.

I’m a blogger, I know I am.  I absolutely love sharing images and talking about photography, the industry, random ass shit and now I will also be including some of how I find inspiration and use it towards a shoot.

I was at a thrift shop yesterday and found some very cool props, they didn’t match any shoot I have coming up but they did inspire a new idea!  I spend a whole $5.00 and got some amazing stuff!  Today I might go out and hit some garage sales, just see what I can find and what I can put to use here at The Playground.  I can’t help it, guilty pleasures are something I love.  My life is filled with guilty pleasures!  I love bad music, I mean I love all music, but I really like cheesy stuff!  I am a creature of the 70’s and 80’s.  Fashion was awesome and hideous at the same time.  This is where I get a lot of my inspiration from, just my childhood and growing up in this time era.

I will be that guy 5 years from now still blasting Macklemore’s “Thrift Shop” along with Donny Iris’ “Ah Leah” on the same mix tape playing on my old boom box in my garage.  But this is where I spend a lot of my time, building sets, cleaning up props that were a little dirty from my Craigslist finds and working on my old Mercedes.  This truly is my playground!

Jessamyne by The Average Jim

Jessamyne by The Average Jim

How my wife puts up with me sometimes I’ll never know!  Everything I do to our home has some intention of being used as a prop!  Except the master bedroom, I had to draw the line somewhere.  Or she did.  I build an extra storage spot in the garage which will be used in a future shoot, it doesn’t look like a place for storage, it looks like a backdrop.  I do this with everything.  My loft, the backyard, my new patio space on the back porch, everything has a design element to it for shooting.

Jessamyne by The Average Jim

I’m kind of a home body, this is why I love to shoot here at my home.  I don’t have to go anywhere!  I’m familiar with my surroundings, my dogs get to hang out with me every day and I can walk around in shorts all day long!

Jessamyne by The Average Jim

Hopefully you like the new layout of this blog, one benefit is I will be adding more photos to every post!