Finding Inspiration Again

My last post was called “Full Throttle” and that was no joke!  I have been swamped since then!  Several shoots, clients, emails, and I’ve set up my Patreon site (linked above) as well as been loading thousands of images to The Average Jim Archives!  So far there are over 10,000 images up in the archives ready for viewing!  Plus I will be uploading even more every day I can!

I have to give credit to my friend and a model I have worked with many times.  Roarie Yum is awesome!  I was seriously burned out and was ready to take an extended break from photography, there were only a handful of people who I enjoyed working with and only a few clients who seemed to really understand my work and what I was going for.  But I had two shoots with her at the end of last year and I realized what I really wanted to do with my work.

Working with her I realized how I wanted to explore my version of art even more.  It is so easy to get sidetracked and want to produce work like other people are and to get published and be a player in the whole game of the photography industry.  But I was shooting some Instax prints with Roarie and that is when I realized I just want to get more of my work out there into the hands of other people.  I think I shot 40 or more instant film shots with her, no other digital images of some of them.  Just those shots, I of course made digital copies for myself and for my archives, but for the last of the looks we did I only shot the instant film.  This, to me, made them more valuable.  Not just monetarily but intellectually to myself.

While I do have some sessions where I have shot over 1000 images of one model, I also have some where I may have only shot one or two rolls of film.  And I’m talking medium format film where there are only 15-30 images from an entire session.  This is what I love about photography.  It isn’t how much you shoot, sometimes it is the content and who you shoot it with.

I had thought about selling the prints, but instead I gave them all to Roarie as a gift.  I told her to sell them, keep her favorites or just give them away.  I want prints out in the world.  I want other people to enjoy my work hopefully as much as I do!  This is why I set up things like my Patreon site and my Indiegogo campaigns, not just to make money, although that helps out with the whole starving artist thing.  But I want people to get to see my work, I want them to have copies of my work.  I don’t need to get rich doing this, getting by would actually be nice, but if I can get prints to people then that is exactly what I want to do!

I am no longer burned out, in fact I’m super inspired right now and even more motivated to shoot some amazing work!  I have some big plans lined up for the next few months, hopefully it can all come together!

Here is one of my favorites from my latest session with Roarie.

Roarie by The Average Jim