Be Cool Boudoir

This is the time of year when I start getting the boudoir inquiries.  I don’t shoot as much boudoir as I used to.  A couple of years ago it was over 100 sessions a year, now I try to keep it down to about 20 or less.  If there is one thing I have learned over the years it is when I get the chance to spend more time per client, I end up being more creative.  I like taking the time with each subject because after the shoot I can really feel as though I did my best.

I am probably the worst business person out there.  I don’t always charge enough, I don’t keep track of my hours worked, I am solely focused on the product and does it look the way I want it to look.  Money has never been my motivation, unfortunately bills have to get paid!  Or this is what those letters in the mail keep telling me.

I have to admit, boudoir photography can be a lot of fun!  This is why so many photographers are doing it now.  But I think that is with photography in general these days.  It used to be that you were a photographer because you were obsessed with creating images and wanted to be behind the scenes, or some guys used it to meet pretty girls.  Guys still do use it to meet pretty girls, but now being a photographer is the new cool thing to be.  My wife said it is like the rock stars of the 70’s and 80’s.  Back then, everyone wanted to be in a band or play guitar or be cool like a rock star.  Now photographers try to act like this.  I think it is rather silly.

I remember going to WPPI and seeing one of the “top” photographers walking around in his full leather suit.  Sorry, but his work was cheesy glam and he just didn’t look like a rock star, it looked more like Halloween.  It reminded me of the movie Happy Gilmore, “If I saw myself in pants like that I’d kick my own ass.”  But this is why I don’t attend that event anymore, I’d rather stick to just doing what I do.

I’m sure next month I will shoot some boudoir sessions, or maybe I’ll just fly under the radar and focus just on some of the art projects I’ve started.  As long as the rent gets paid and I’m doing what I love to do I’ll be happy.  For now, I’m getting ready for Christmas, holy crap it is just in a few days, time to go shopping!

Lauren by The Average Jim