Love The Process

I’ve been in the mood lately to shoot more film.  I go in these spurts of film, different formats of film, large format, medium format, 35mm, instant, and then back to digital.  And when I go back to digital I play around with different cameras to see the difference in sensors.  It is as though I choose the proper camera for my mood of what I want to shoot.  With post production these days you can get almost any digital or film image to look the way you want it to.  And I did say almost.

What I like about film is that it isn’t just a digital file or a blip of data sitting on my hard drive.  It is tangible.  I can hold the negatives up to the window and choose which one to scan or print.  There is something about doing things this way that I still love.  It could be nostalgia since I did start in the darkroom oh so many years ago.  But it brings me back to the process.  To me photography isn’t just about taking a photo, slapping filter on it and then putting it online.  There is a process from start to finish for me.

It starts before I pick up the camera.  I have an intention of what I want and how I want it to look in the end.  I then select my background, the lighting, is it color or black and white, the model or subject and then I proceed to shoot.  After the shoot I have different choices in film developing, different chemicals, all of which I knew I would use before I shot.  And if I shot digitally then I already knew what I was going to do in post production.  This is the process and follow through I love and it is what keeps me addicted to photography.

I feel very lucky to have found passion in what I get to do.  This is why I share on this blog, I love what I do and I love that I get to share it with the world.

Here is another film shot from the archives.

Codi by The Average Jim