The Average Giveaway

This year has been one of those years for growth.  I did a lot of work, especially for taking as much time off from shooting as I did!  But the biggest improvement I made, at least what I think was the biggest, was getting my artwork out there.  Everything from my instant film projects, my old Polaroids, prints and books!  I have a few more books to mail out by the end of the year and one more print that is shipping out tomorrow.  I would like to thank Picasso for this.

Picasso said “The meaning of life is to find your gift.  The purpose of life is to give it away.” I must say he is right!  I have given away art this year as well.  It is so motivational, it is a great feeling to give someone your work.  I saw someone speak recently and I am stealing their idea.  I will be sending out random pieces of art to random people I know.  They won’t know it is coming and they won’t know why.  This is just something I want to do, and believe it or not, it is more for me than it is them.

One of the main reasons I do what I do is to share it with the world, not to simply keep all of these negatives filed away or hidden on hard drives.  I just shot at a skateboarding event a little over a week ago and some of those photos will be sent to a few certain people I already have picked out.

This also keeps me fresh and motivated to do more projects.  It also keeps the inspiration flowing!  I am lucky enough to have several sources of inspiration, everything from people I know to places I like to go and things I like to do.  I want to get back to NYC soon, actually I want to get out and travel the country again.  I feel like there are so many places I missed on my last trip.  There are still people I’d like to photograph in many different states and already have some favorite locations I want to get back to and will get back to soon!

I’m also back to posting on this site nearly every day again, there will be some sneak peeks of new shoots as well as some old favorites again.  It is all about adventure, creativity and fun from here on out!  Tomorrow I will be unveiling my new Collector’s Circle program too!  It is the best way to see my adventures and all of the new (and old) artwork I have done over the years.  It is also a great way to receive gifts from me, as well as Average Jim exclusives.  But more on that tomorrow.  Right now I am just enjoying life and putting together some items to be shipped out to my buyers!  Give it away, give it away, give it away, give it away now…… RHCP 😉

Petra by The Average Jim