Inside The Lens

This isn’t the first time I have discussed this topic on a blog, but I have been away from here for a long time and I am finally ready to get back to my beach bum life!

For those who don’t remember, have forgotten or who have not been to this site ever before, I am a professional photographer based out of Ventura, CA.  My main work is fashion photography, boudoir photography and lifestyle photography.  I am also a semi-professional musician and avid blogger.  I have also been called a guru of sorts.  My background in philosophy definitely helps when working with people and especially when I mentor other photographers.

But enough about me, I will be updating my “About Me” page soon enough.  All that matters now is that you know I am a photographer and most importantly, a beach bum.

I was speaking with a photographer friend earlier about the magic that happens inside the lens.  When I work with my subjects, quite often it is just me and the model.  I usually have an assistant for my boudoir clients but those are different types of sessions.  When I am creating, when I am working from that part of my being, I like the least amount of distractions as possible.  Also, when there is trust, we get inside the lens.  It is a place I like to go.  It is our own little world away from everyone else.  No distractions, no text messages, no Facebook updates.  It is just the two of us, understanding the vibe and working together to get the best images possible.

Betcee May by The Average Jim

There is a real connection here.  And that, to me, is what photographing people in an intimate way is all about.  The realness, the connection, the intimacy.  Having a friend with you who is blabbering away on their phone in the background is a distraction.  Having an assistant who doesn’t know to keep quite and only do what they are supposed to be doing on a shoot is a distraction.  Distractions take away from the work you are working so hard to create.  So why allow them to happen?

I know there are creepers out there, I know models need to protect themselves.  This is why I say “when there is trust”.  If you don’t trust someone enough to be alone with them, maybe you shouldn’t be working with them in the first place?  If I feel like a model is a little shady, I don’t work with her.  Shouldn’t it be the other way around as well?

This is all personal choice.  I just choose to work with people I trust and have this connection with.  It is the same way I choose my friends and the way I choose my staff.  I trust them, I feel comfortable with them, this is why I surround myself with them.  I just believe in doing the same in my work environment.

Betcee May by The Average Jim

Here is the result of being “Inside The Lens”