It’s About Time

I’ve been slacking again.  On the blog that is.  I’ve been getting my other site with my photography work finished and completely stepped away from this blog.  But life is good, and when life is good I often forget to write about it!  I’ve been getting all of my ducks in a row and making my new business plan and just feeling pretty motivated.

One thing I actually kind of pride myself on is living by my philosophy of “Money is easy to come by, time isn’t.  So spend your time wisely.”  I know we all need to make money to live in this world, but I have only had 3 real jobs in my adult life.  And by real jobs I mean where I had to be somewhere at a certain time in the morning and couldn’t just take off on a moment’s notice for a day or a few weeks.  I worked at a warehouse when I was 19 for 10 months.  That was barely a real job, but I had to work 6 days a week and be there at 7:30 AM every day.  I mean I got to pull pranks on my boss, so that is partially why it is barely a real job.

I also worked for my dad, while he is a slave driver and probably the hardest worker I have ever seen, I am his son and knew how to work him.  Not a real job even though it kicked my ass every time I worked with him!  I delivered Pizzas for four hours a night when I was in college.  I averaged about $25 an hour or more, so I kept the job for 4 and a half years!  It was seriously easy work, had some very attractive waitresses to flirt with and the owners treated me like family.  I only worked 16 hours a week and paid my rent, car payment and had money to go out!  I was also taking photos on the side so that helped.  The only time I really stopped taking photos was in the mid 1990’s when I started playing music almost full-time.  My band played a ton of shows which is also why I just didn’t want a job that would cut into playing music.

When I moved to Florida (for four years) I worked at a carpet store for about 5 months, I was promoted to manager but I had to quit.  The owner was a thief and so were some of the people I was working with.  Sorry, I’m not writing checks for stolen property.  Technically this was a real job as I had real responsibilities.  There is my 2nd one.  After this job, I started my own business.  I was a handyman.  I ended up getting approved by the city to work on historic homes in Orlando.  This was fun.  Most of my days were about 3-6 hours of work, very rarely a full week.  This is what happens when I make my own schedule!  This could have easily turned into a real job, but I moved back to California.

I moved back to California in May of 2005.  I got married in July of that year.  I coasted by picking up side jobs and the occasional photo gig.  Then in December I got a job working construction.  Within two months of being there I was promoted to lead carpenter and was one of the top paid guys working there.  This job lasted just over a year.  This was a real job, but it was a fun job working with a great group of people!  The only reason I left was because someone made a major mistake and it cost the company a ton of money and work.  While some guys were laid off, some were going on unemployment, I chose to leave because I couldn’t get enough hours and I knew other people needed those hours more than I did.  I still had side jobs and photography to pay my bills.  This was real job number 3.

Since 2007 when I left this job I have only worked for one other person aside from myself, and that was just part time when he needed help.  Now I take photos, I even drive Uber!  But I still spend my time wisely.  I refuse to keep a job I dislike.  I refuse to work at something I do not enjoy doing.  I love playing music, I love taking pictures, I love having most of my day to spend with my wife, my pets and doing whatever it is I like to do.  I probably should care about money more than I do but over all of this time there is one thing I have definitely learned.  I can always make more money, I cannot make more time.  I’m 44 and I love life!  I don’t worry about tomorrow, I don’t regret yesterday.  I live now, I live in today.  If you’re not happy, do something right now that makes you happy.  I can make all of the business plans I want, but if I don’t take care of myself today I cannot take care of myself tomorrow.  You know what you need for you just like I know what I need for me.

I didn’t plan on writing all of this down this morning, it just kind of came out.  Hopefully anyone reading it can find their own little bit of inspiration from it.  If anything, just take a moment to enjoy something for yourself today.

This photo is from my front yard, palm trees and snow capped mountains today.🙂