What Path Are You On?

A lot of people are afraid to be who they really are.  For some reason, at least in the American society, there is this pressure to “fit in”.  But why?  I can definitely say that I am probably the oddball of my family.  I am the only one who moved away, I have never really grown up, at least not by what we call normal standards.  The way I choose to live is probably more what people wish they could live like instead of how they actually live.  I know that sounds like arrogance but I am talking about the freedom I allow myself to have from the “norm” and if I didn’t live my life the way I do I would probably go crazy.

I’m sure some people find security in having a normal job with set hours and weekends off.  I feel trapped when I have a job like that.  I like working, of course my work is always based on what I love to do.  I love music, photography, writing and carpentry.  There are days when I will do all of these things in the span of a 24 hour period.  It’s just what I do.  Today, I was working on top of a 40 foot roof, this afternoon, I am shooting headshots for an actress.  Tonight I might just play my guitar for a little while and I’m writing this blog now. It’s all about balance.

I am who I am.  I’ve tried to play by society’s rules but I always fail.  It is not in the cards for me to have a normal life.  And I’m okay with that.  I may never be rich, I may never do a lot of things.  But one thing I know for sure, I have been living a life I am personally proud of so far.  And to be honest, I am fine with that.  I will continue on doing what I do for as long as possible.  From taking photos to woodworking to whatever inspires me next, this is my path and I am taking it!