Return of The Beach Bum

I have been away from this site for quite a while now.  Call it going on walk-about or just call it me trying to find out who I really am.  I guess both of those are basically the same thing.  For the past year I have been focusing on my photography career.  Working on new ideas, mostly in the fashion and commercial markets, taking some time away from weddings, although I did shoot several weddings this year.  It was supposed to be a year of work, a year of defining myself as a photographer but it didn’t quite go the way I thought it would.

There is a reason why I live where I do.  I am away from the hustle of the city, I am also away from the negativity that can and often does come from there.  I love the west coast, but if I am perfectly honest with myself, I don’t think I could ever live in Los Angeles.  I am only an hour from downtown LA, but it really does seem like it is a world away.

It has been an interesting life lesson, this whole year.  I have seen the true colors of people, some that I didn’t think I would see.  This has really made it easy for me to come to the conclusion that I really like being a beach bum.  I like not being part of “The Scene” and just being able to be me in a small town by the ocean.  There is a certain simplicity to it which makes me able to focus and look at life through my own eyes and not those of some creative director.

I like working with people.  I like photographing people.  I like finding out about other people and I really do find them interesting.  When I am on a photo shoot with someone I talk a lot, part of this is to make my subject comfortable, but when you open up about yourself they will also be more inclined to open up about themselves, and this is when the magic happens.  This happens whether I am photographing a wedding, a fashion model or one of my personal art projects.  It is all about connecting with people.  The older I get, the more I appreciate it.

The industry is not good for me.  I see that now.  I do have a few clients who will make the journey to my studio in Ventura, I will still take those jobs.  But I am over trying to compete in an industry where you have to push someone down just so you can rise above the crowd.  It just isn’t in me to be that way.  I like living a positive vibe lifestyle.  I don’t want to worry about who ripped off my idea and sold it as their own.  I just do what I do.  And once again am truly living out my philosophy of “what other people think of me is none of my business.”  All this means is that I am no longer concerned with impressing people and trying to prove how good I am at something.   I don’t need to say how good I am, my work speaks for itself, either you like it or you don’t.  Either is fine with me.

I love being a photographer, I love being a musician, I love to write and I still love to work with my hands.  Life is about living your own life, and my life is about what I call being a beach bum.  What is yours about?