The Connection

There is one majorly important thing an artist must understand throughout their career.  Most people really will not understand you.  No matter how hard they try or how well they know you, they just will not understand what it feels like to be you.  Even if they are another artist they may not understand why it is you do the things you do.  I find myself not always understanding the methodology of other artists or why they are so emotionally attached to something so minor to me yet so massive to them.

I have been lucky and have worked with a few people, or more than a few people over the years who just seem to get me and my work.  It is weird because outside of a working relationship I don’t think we would be friends.  But when we work together there is this magic that happens and an understanding of who each other is.  It is hard to describe, but it goes along the lines of when I talk about meeting inside the lens.  Sometimes it is like it actually happens!

Magic moments and these connections seem to last within me for a very long time.  I may not have spoken with people for months or even years, but there is this feeling that they still get me and what I am trying to do.  They just understand.

It was the same when I was playing music full-time.  There are fans, there are people who like what you do, and there are those who don’t get it at all!  But then there is one or two people who just get it.  They get the meaning and the overall depth of what it is you are trying to accomplish.  It is like no matter what you do, you are always fully exposed to them.  This is terrifying and inspiring all at the same time.

So if someone doesn’t get why you do what you do.  It is okay.  I have come to the realization that not everyone is meant to understand why I do the things I do.  I’m okay with that now, the judgement from others still sucks, but it is going to keep happening.  But if I am being honest, the perspective of being a photographer and a musician is about the same.  As a musician, I didn’t care if someone bought my CD at a gig or not, I always loved it when there was that one person in the front row or off in the corner who just connected with what I was doing.  I could always spot them from the stage.  The connection is gold.  So when I produce the images I do, I know there are people who see them, who like them, who don’t like them or who wonder what my motives are behind it and I don’t care.  I just like it when I make that connection.  It doesn’t matter if it happens inside of the lens or online or when they see a print hanging on the wall.  It is the connection, and it is usually there for a lifetime, locked in my brain and hopefully locked in their’s as well.

Anoush by The Average Jim