Make It Count

I have never been one to do things the normal way.  Also, I have never really cared what others thought of me while I wasn’t doing things the normal way.  Here is why.

If someone is judging you for what you do, and if what you’re doing isn’t hurting anyone else or illegal, but these other individuals just don’t like it, they are not your friends or fans.  I have lost some “friends” over the years because of the type of work I do.  I can’t blame it on religion because I have some extremely conservative religious friends who love my work!  So what is it that makes people uncomfortable?

A few years ago some friends actually said they had to “unfriend” me on Facebook because it showed what photos I liked in their news feed.  These were just a few (literally a few) photos of models who were friends of mine.  I would like their photo, which was not overtly sexual or even close to nude, but because they were photos of models they had to unfriend me.  It was too “sexy” for them.

Honestly, they’re nice people but they’re not my friends.  One of them actually had a talk with me about how it just wasn’t moral.  Give me a fucking break!  Artists, for centuries, have been amazed and bewildered by the nude human body!  Governments have commissioned works of art that are in the nude!  Churches have commissioned art that is nude!  If me liking a photo of a friend of mine online where she is wearing a t-shirt and shorts is offensive then you have your own issues to deal with!  I guess you’ll be giving your wife a fucking burka for Valentine’s Day.

This is why I say what other people think of me is none of my business.  I didn’t need to hear that from him.  But he felt the need to tell me what I do is wrong.  I work with women, women hire me to take photos of themselves and models contact me to photograph them the way I do.  I’m not forcing anyone into this by any means.  If the women who work with me feel okay with it well then, that is all that matters to me.

I will be embarking on a new project soon, hopefully if all goes well, and this will be in typical Average Jim form.  There are no rules, there are no boundaries and the limitations are only set by the person in front of my lens.  We go where the shoot takes us and that is just what happens.  Sometimes it is sensual sometimes it is fashionable sometimes it is gritty and sometimes it is just cute and fun.  But if you don’t like it, don’t look at it.  If you do like it, feel free to buy some of the work or to hire me to create it for you!  Or just keep coming back for more.

The bottom line is this.  If you feel the need to criticize the work in a negative way based off of your personal beliefs.  I don’t want to hear it because I don’t care.  I live for today and love the freedom that comes with what I do.  My work isn’t about sexuality, it is about freedom, love, throwing caution to the wind and just embracing life.  You only live once, make it count.

Jessica by The Average Jim