It doesn’t have to be art

There is a certain freedom that comes with being an artist.  Actually it is called artistic freedom.  This is the power to do what I want when I want.  I like it this way, in fact I like it so much that I think this is about the only way I will be doing business as a photographer anymore.  Or maybe I won’t be doing business as a photographer anymore and I will just shoot what I want when I want and see if I can make the art I want to make.  And to be perfectly honest, sometimes it will not be art at all.

I like making pretty pictures, or pictures that make you think, or pictures that just make you wonder what in the hell was I thinking?  It is time to follow the voices in my head and just explore the little bits of inspiration which usually get put on hold until they spark a bigger idea.  Maybe the little idea is the big idea?

I need to let photography be my obsession, not my profession.  Well, I shouldn’t be that extreme, I still have people who hire me for what I do and they give me full artistic freedom, so I’m totally cool with that.  I’m just not going to keep trying to make it my main gig financially.  I have some other options and I’m taking them!  And if it pays off I will get to do even more creative photography than ever before!

When it comes to living life I like to think of myself as an explorer.  I don’t believe in the regular 9 to 5 job, I believe in taking as many vacations as possible and I believe in enjoying every moment you can.  My wife gave me some inspiration yesterday as to what I should be doing to make money and, as usual, I think she is right!  It is still in my creative wheelhouse and has nothing to do with selling out!  This will also allow me to focus on the creative side of taking pictures again full-time!  And this makes my energy go through the roof!

I now feel like I am chomping at the bit and ready to charge, but I know I need to restrain myself at first.  There are some hurdles in the way, nothing too huge, but I do need to get passed them before charging forward, as I do not wish to fall flat on my face!

And welcome to my world of being a creative!  Always thinking of new ways to survive in a world that wants your product, but never has the budget to pay you.  The true creativity sometimes comes in how you find new ways to get paid for what you do rather than actually doing what you do!  If you are a creative person, don’t let this stop you, just think of it as part of the creative process and you will find yourself far less frustrated!  Trust me, this is something I know about!

This is from an editorial I shot last year with Charley, we really didn’t have a plan, just walk around Portland and see what happens next, it is definitely my kind of plan!

Charley by The Average Jim