Stop and Go

After all of these years I have decided to stop.  I am going to stop giving advice about the photography industry.  I will continue to be a photographer and artist but I no longer care about where the industry is going.  Months ago I decided to focus on the positive and I don’t feel like I can do that while still fighting the bullshit in the industry.  There are so many battles going on within the photography industry and it is overwhelming!  How to build your business, how to sell your prints, how to cause controversy on social media to gain followers and the list goes on.  There is a huge unethical side to this business which I just do not wish to be a part of, so I am removing myself from the equation entirely.

I do what I do.  It is pretty simple, no false claims, no fake controversy.  I don’t teach workshops, I will not speak at conferences and I will not fake it to make it.  Photographers are a funny breed.  Some consider themselves to be artists while others look at it as a business and part of the problem is when we all don’t see eye to eye logic does not prevail.  The person with the most fans will think they have won the argument because their fans think they can do no wrong.  You can be unethical and bullshit your way through your “class” you are teaching but in the end it is still a lie.

So instead of continuing to fight for what is ethical and teaching people how to be a better photographer I’m just going to let the herd thin itself.  If someone is gullible enough to listen to the bullshit then I just have to let them take the path they have chosen.  I was told recently that my comments regarding someone’s (what I called) unethical business practice were out of line.  I know why they said this.  I was supposed to speak at a conference and didn’t because of client obligations.  But the person I was calling out was also a speaker at this conference but she brings in attendees, so I guess I can’t call her out for being an unethical person because it is bad for business.  So I will just separate myself from these kinds of people.  They choose dollars over knowledge and call it good teaching.  I still call it bullshit, but it is bullshit that wishes to stay bullshit, I can’t change that.

From now on I am just going to be me.  I will do my best to stay out of the crap this industry has to offer and I will keep moving forward.  I will keep on taking pictures the way I do and hopefully keep evolving as a photographer.  My goal is to better myself every chance I get, and one way of doing that is letting go of all negativity I have towards this industry.  I made this change in my personal life and it has made such drastic improvements that I really need to let it flow into my professional life.  I am still a straight talking no fluff kind of guy, I still won’t take shit from anyone, I just don’t have to fight so hard.

It is kind of like when you’re driving a car and there is always that one guy who passes everyone while he is in the right turn lane and then wants to get over.  You can either get close to the bumper of the car in front of you and not let him in, or you can just let the asshole go in front of you and let him get as far away from you as possible.  I’m letting the assholes go.  I hope they drive themselves as far away from me as they can. 😉

Here is a sample of a new project I am working on…. if you like it cool, if not, oh well. 😉

"Smile" by The Average Jim