Settled in Palm Springs

Many people who know me ask me why I moved to Palm Springs.  Honestly, I needed a change and this was one of my favorite places in California and had actually thought about moving here for over 3 years.  They still ask why Palm Springs?  The other questions usually revolve around money, they will ask “well is there a market for boudoir photography?”  “Is there really any work out there?”  Yes and no.  I am two and a half hours from my Ventura studio, that really is not that far.  I’m less than two hours from Los Angeles so if I feel the desire I can go there.  There is some work here, but that is not why I moved.

Living in Ventura could be wonderful at times.  Gorgeous weather and the beaches were amazing!  But it is kind of a blue-collar conservative town.  It has a fairly big population so I did get customers, but not all of them got what it is I do.  I thought about moving to Los Angeles, but I just can’t do it.  The amount of networking and cut-throat business practices that go along with living there are things I just don’t want to do anymore.  Plus the air quality just is not that good.

Palm Springs is a place that I fell in love with many years ago.  There is a very open-minded community here and when people find out I photograph nudes for a living they usually either ask to see my work or just find it interesting.  So far no real judging me for what I do, which is a nice way to live!

Work has slowed down a little since moving here, but it has given me perspective and time to really focus on what I want to do rather than what I have to do to just pay the bills.  It is a slower pace here, which I am really starting to love.  I have talked in the past about wanting to have my own little commune away from the world where I could create my art, well I think I have found it.  It also took me away from a lot of the BS that the industry in LA seems to have and likes to throw at you.  I’m starting to really think I made the right move.

I have not worked with a model since August of last year!  I have had many client sessions but could probably use a few more.  I have become a little complacent, and I’m not sure if this is a bad thing or not.  I’m sure after a while my bank account will say it is!  And now that I am comfortable and settled in, I probably should get to booking more sessions, but lounging out by the pool is so hard to resist! 😉

Amanda by The Average Jim