The Moody Jim

I am such a moody artist.  One minute I’m loving everything and the next I hate everyone.  Notice I didn’t say one minute I’m loving everyone, because that just doesn’t happen.  But with all of this moodiness I think I know where I went wrong last year.  I tried to be nice to everyone and went out of my way to show it.  Well I got burned a lot last year and taken advantage of, which I knew would probably happen, but now I know what I need to do, or what I think I need to do, or what I should probably do.  Something like that.

This year ends my full-time pursuit of boudoir photography.  If someone likes my work and wants to pay my rate I’ll do it because I love shooting boudoir!  But I’m going back to my original pricing of you purchase an album and I shoot to fill it and it has to be my style, no cheesy Pinterest glamour shots.  Plus there are thousands of other boudoir photographers out there who do that type of stuff, a few of them are really good while the others should probably go find another calling.  Just being honest.  This year also officially ends my pursuit of any and all commercial work.  I’m over it, end of story.

So what does this leave?  Well, editorials don’t pay squat, they can be fun to shoot but in the end it’s just internet fame, and not much of it if you ask me.  But it does leave my personal shoots and my art shoots.  This means more crazy ideas from yours truly.  I am a huge fan of conceptual art and pop art, which really does blend well with being a photographer.  So this year I wish to pursue my creative side.  I don’t care if I have to go work at Starbucks to pay my bills, although that probably won’t happen because I suck and making coffee and I still do shoot weddings, but you get the idea.

I am in the process of the release of my new work and it will be available very soon!  I have the first prints arriving this week and they will be going up on my Etsy store very soon!  I am embracing the mad-man inside of my head and pushing forward with new ideas.  So expect me to blog a lot more, kind of like I did in the past and hopefully this time the posts will be filled with more of my new work while still showcasing some of the older stuff from the archives.  I had contemplated not showing my new work on this site, but I think I have found a way to do it where it won’t be stolen as much as my images have been in the past.  Well, I hope not as much!

Welcome to my mind, buckle up, it is going to be a bumpy ride of ups and downs and sometimes utter madness! But if you know me well enough you’ll probably be used to it. 😉

Katie by The Average Jim