Guilty Pleasures

I have many guilty pleasures in life.  I like movies that some people just don’t understand.  I have some really bad taste sometimes, but that is why it is called a guilty pleasure right?  An example is my affinity for cheesy hair metal music.  I love this stuff, I don’t know why, but I do!

It does give a little bit of insight into the way I think.  I am an extrovert, I love the attention of being on stage and love performing.  I also love the glamour of it all.  There is a lot of attention given to everything going on.  It isn’t just an outfit or an act, it is a way of life.

My little world I live in is my way of life.  This may sound crazy but I don’t live in the same world as most people.  Money is trivial to me, I know I need it to pay the rent, but other than that I can’t stand it!  I love being in the moment, I love living in the moment!  If I never had to make another plan for the rest of my life I would seriously love that!  But I know there will be plans to make, I just choose to make as few as possible!

My wife and I went to Hawaii years ago with friends.  I remember our friends asking us what we were planning to do the next day.  My wife and I looked at each other and said, “I don’t know, we will see where we end up.”  Well that is still how I live.  I have no clue where I’m going to be tomorrow, or this afternoon for that matter!

My biggest guilty pleasure is my own time.  I have lived by this philosophy since I can remember.  Money is easy to come by, time isn’t.  So therefore I spend my time wisely because I can always make more money, but I only have so much time.  This is why I do the work I do.  I don’t believe in spending my days doing work I don’t like to do.  I see so many people with jobs to just get by.  I don’t want to spend my life just getting by.

This is where my love of hair metal music comes in.  It’s just about having a good time with life.  It’s about passion, partying and living life to the fullest.  So if you were to ask me what my photography represents, I would say the same thing!  Passion, partying and living life to the fullest, that is what The Average Jim’s Playground is all about!Chelsea by The Average Jim