For The Love of Print

I am a huge advocate for printed, tangible products.  One of the main reasons I do what I do is because I love the way prints look!  I have prints hanging all over my house, my office alone has dozens of photos hanging on the walls!  I have floor to ceiling bookshelves filled with art and magazines and more prints.  If Facebook were to shut down I would have plenty to look at!

I am always looking for new products to showcase my work.  The biggest seller is my “Little Black Book” which is amazing for my boudoir clients, but I want to incorporate the style of that book with more of an art book feel.  I still might try to make an art book out of it, but I’ve got a few other ideas as well.

The more I dive into art and read about it, the more creative I want to get with each and every session I shoot.  I think I want to make a book for every session just to have a library of my own work.  Even if I don’t sell it, it would just be cool to have.

This is really the reason behind my new pricing.  Books and prints are just cool to look at.  To hold it in your hands and to flip through the images, it takes you there.  There is something about the feeling of seeing the print in front of you rather than on a computer monitor.  And don’t get me wrong, I love searching for images online and I love blogging images.  But I still do not believe that the digital image can compete with a print.

Maybe I’m a little old school that way.  All I know is that I am going to start printing a lot more of my work!  Some will be for sale, some won’t.  Even though I love to sell art prints, there are some images I have created that are just for me.

Annelise by The Average Jim