I don’t want to be right.

And so here it goes again, apparently I am often wrong according to several people who come across my blog.  I’m wrong because I like grainy pictures, I love not being able to make out every single detail in every single image.  I’m wrong for my political beliefs.  I’m wrong because I don’t shoot RAW for everything I shoot.  I’m wrong because I believe in equal rights and am against sex crimes.  I’m wrong because I accept everyone for who they are and do my best to not judge them.

I have been told I am wrong because I don’t pay the models I shoot.  I have been told I am wrong because I don’t charge enough for anything I shoot.  I have been told I am wrong because I don’t use the newest camera available to me.  I have been told these things by veteran photographers, new photographers, and random know-it-all people on the web.  But guess what, I don’t think I’m wrong.

There is a song by Luther Ingram called “If loving you is wrong, I don’t want to be right” and I think I am just going to take that philosophy for my business.  To all the people who just seem to know so much about everything.  Go ahead, be right.  I’m cool with that.  I love doing things the wrong way.  I love getting that perfect mixture of imperfection.  I love standing up for what I believe in.  I love not shooting generic crap.

There is one amazingly great thing about being wrong, okay maybe a few things.  I have no expectations to live up to.  I have no rules to follow.  I have no worries.  In fact, I don’t even have to take the criticism because it just doesn’t matter.

I am wondering if I should tell the magazines I shoot for and the clients who pay me lots of money that I am wrong and they are probably wrong too for liking my work so much?  Got I can’t believe so many people have the same bad taste I do.

Okay, enough sarcasm.  I look at my images in one way and only in this one way.  What is the final image going to look like?  I think this before I even pick up the camera.  Do I want it gritty, do I want it overly sharp, do I want it color or black and white.  I make these decisions before I shoot.  The only thing that matters to me is what the end result is.

So keep on telling me I’m wrong, and I will keep on smiling and creating the images I create.  Because if loving what I do is wrong, I don’t want to be right. 😉

Julia by The Average Jim