Belittle This

I have noticed that there are not too many photographers out there who admit that they shoot portraits and weddings.  I love the stigma that people put on wedding and portrait photographers.  Okay, not so much people but other photographers mainly.  I think they forget that people like Richard Avedon are portrait photographers who also happen to shoot fashion.

People like to label things, you have to either be a fashion photographer, or a lifestyle photographer, or a wedding photographer.  I am a people photographer.  I photograph people and if you go to my Instagram or Facebook you’ll see that I do post images from these other events I shoot.  There was a certain photographer who shall remain nameless, but he says he shoots fashion, I have no idea what magazines his work has been in, but he certainly sells out his workshops!  But he shot some natural light lifestyle fashion images and made a comment about now he should shoot weddings because it is so simple.

I’m not going to say one type of photography is easier than the other, but what is the deal with people being so condescending?  Why do some people feel the need to put others down to try and make themselves look better?  Let your work speak for you, especially if you’re one of these people who has the desire to belittle your peers.

I have had 14 or 15 fashion editorials published this year, less than some more than others maybe.  I have also had two major wedding magazines pick up recent weddings for publication.  Earlier this year I also had a bridal session picked up by a magazine.  So these worlds do cross over.  I’m not trying to brag but I do have a point to make.

My point?  Just focus on doing good work all the way around.  You can bash others all you want but at the end of the day that does not make your images stronger, it just shows your insecurity and it doesn’t do any good for anybody, including yourself.

Yes, I photograph a lot of models, but I shoot for clothing companies and editorials for magazines and sometimes to showcase the boudoir I shoot because my clients want total privacy!  But, on my other site, you can see all the weddings I shoot with my wife.  I don’t hide who I am to any of my clients.  If someone does not want to hire me because I shoot nudes or a clothing company doesn’t want me because I shoot weddings too then these people are not my clients.  Embrace who you are and do not compromise who you are for anyone.  I respect other photographers who do types of work that I don’t think I could ever do.  Sometimes I don’t even like the work they do but they’re happy and they are bringing in a paycheck and their clients are happy.  I’m not going to talk down to them because I don’t like what they do, I’m just happy that they are doing it so I don’t have to! 😉

Anoush by The Average Jim