Trial and Success

I’m not sure if other photographers out there feel this way but I often feel my career as a photographer is mostly trial and error.  This industry is a very fickle one and you never know what is going to be the next big thing.  If could be you or it could be the exact opposite of you!

The only constant I have experienced is that when I shoot what I love it tends to stick for the most part.  So that is what I keep doing over and over.  I feel as though I have to push myself but still keep it in the realm of what I love to shoot.  Now that I have moved myself to Palm Springs I feel that even more doors have opened for me to push my own work.  Now more than ever I want to shoot what I want and just see where it takes me.

The artist inside of me is wanting to escape more and more.  This is where the trial and error comes into play.  It is hard to experiment on a paying client, this is why I love editorials!  I can shoot creatively and figure what works best and then repeat it for my client.  It is like I have to separate my art from my client, but I’m not sure if I want to do that anymore.  I really want my client to hire me for what I can do, not what I have done already.

I’ll figure it out one day, but for today, I’ll just keep on doing what I do and see where it takes me.  There may be a lot of trial and error in this business, but the days that are trial and success are the ones that keep me going!

Charlie by The Average Jim