Love Me, Like Me, Dislike Me, Hate Me.

I’ve been working on some ideas lately.  Mostly regarding how I want to run my business and really figuring out what I do and do not want to do.  I have had a lot of success this year with having my work published, so far I think it has been 14 or 15 editorials this year.  What I like about every one of these publications is that they have all been my style.  I didn’t shoot for the look of the magazine, the magazine wanted what I shot.  This is how I want to do everything.

There is one magazine out there that I have been told I really need to submit to.  There is just one problem, it really isn’t a magazine, it is one photographer who runs it and always publishes his work and wants everything to look like what he does.  The internet has allowed people to claim to be something they are not, and while he may have a lot more followers than me, they aren’t the kind of following I want.  I want people to like my work for what it is, not just because I got some young agency model naked.  Yes, I shoot nudes, but I really think there is a difference between getting someone naked in front of a camera and having at least some intellectual content.  What is the reason?  If it’s just to see her boobs I consider it a fail.

And I know there are some people who can’t tell the difference between an image with intellectual content and straight up T&A.  But those people are out there and I’m not considering them into this equation.

My intention with all of my new work is to keep pushing towards my goal of just doing what I do.  I shoot every session differently and I like to think all of my clients and models I work with are individuals and deserve something for themselves.  They all inspire me differently so why would I shoot them all the same?

I do shoot a lot of “boudoir” type sessions.  I guess I call it boudoir because I really don’t have another name for it.  Sometimes it is erotic sometimes it is glamorous and sometimes it has a fashion flair to it.  But it all looks like my work.  Like I said before, it’s just what I do and I’m not changing that for anyone.

Robyn by The Average Jim