New Playground, Same Attitude. ;)

It looks like I will definitely be making some changes to what I call my “playground”.  Such big changes that I will no longer be using my current studio as of the end of October.  I will be moving into a new place very soon and things will be a little different.  My work is going to be focused more on the creative process rather than the technical or anything like that.  The more I go down this road of being creative and focusing on mood and the overall vibe of an image the more I realize that this is all I want to do!

I’m sure I will not book as many clients as I did this year in the next year but that is okay.  After talking a few friends who are photographers and watching them go through certain things they have to go through to make clients happy or watching them struggle with understanding their own style has made me just want to only do what I do.

Okay, I realize this is pretty vague, but here it is.  There is a difference between delivering a product and delivering art.  Some people wish to create the same thing over and over and get paid for doing that.  I’m not one of those people.  I don’t mind going for the same mood, but everyone needs to be photographed differently in my opinion.  People come in all shapes, sizes and colors!  If I photographed everyone the same some people would hate their images of themselves!  But this is my way of shooting, I’m not saying it is right for everyone, but it is for me.

The problem with the photography industry is that very few photographers will tell this to their clients.  The other problem is that some believe that their way is always right, and when I say people I mean photographers.  I was told recently that I needed to shoot weddings a certain way.  I disagreed and I will still continue to shoot weddings with the approach I like to take.  Especially when I just had a wedding client email me images of what they like for their own wedding coming up in October.  And guess what, it is exactly what I do!  But they want it a little grittier like my style is.  So am I really doing something wrong?  No, I’m not.

I have some big plans for the next year, hopefully I can make them all work out the way I want them to.  All I know is that the next year is all about style.  Everything I do is all about how I see the world and the people who end up in front of my lens.  I don’t care what camera I use, what lens I use, film or digital or jpeg or RAW, none of those things matter.  The only thing that matters is the artwork I produce.

With that being said, here is to the future and all of the adventures I am sure it is about to bring!

Roarie by The Average Jim