Choices

I just wrapped up another great boudoir session today.  I love my job.  Seriously, this is just fun work, it doesn’t even feel like work to me because it is what I love to do!  I wish I could share what I shot today, but my client wants it kept private, so private it will stay!  I will say she did shoot in the Mercedes and loved it! Who doesn’t like that car?

Today is a day where I feel very fortunate to be able to do what I love and even more fortunate to get to make a living at it!  I’ve never been one to aspire to make a living doing anything, I’m not really a money person, I would definitely do well in a free market system.  So the fact that I can pay my bills and live by taking pictures is a pretty cool thing in my book!  My dad was a contractor and I worked for him for years, this is much easier on my back and way more fun!

I feel like I need to expand a bit more, keep pushing boundaries and see what is inside of my brain.  I was reading up on Salvador Dali, a very interesting person who tended to piss of a lot of people.  I like that about him.  Sometimes you have to ruffle a few feathers to get the right kind of attention.  Also, if someone is going to be so pissed off at me because of what I do then they have way more issues than just being pissed off at me!

It’s like when my clients tell me they like my sense of humor, my use of foul language and my selected asshole tendencies.  I say selected because you only receive that if it is deserved.  Otherwise I’m a nice guy with good intentions, even if some don’t want to believe that.  Anyone who knows me knows it is true.  Life is too short to worry about what others think of you, like Bob Marley said in one of his songs:

“My choice is what I choose to do
And if I’m causing no harm
It shouldn’t bother you.
Your choice is who you choose to be
And if you’re causing no harm
Then you’re alright with me”

This is the way I choose to live.  Everyone I work with is a willing subject and participant in my vision as a photographer.  Sometimes they are more willing than I could have ever imagined!  But there are skeptics, there are those who want to believe something different and that is okay.  They can believe what they want, it doesn’t bother me because I know what I know and I know what I do and I am okay with my own actions.  Live and let live.  I can’t help it if some people just like to take their clothes off in front of my camera, the only thing you can blame me for is pushing the little black button.  And I will take full blame for that. 😉

Desirey by The Average Jim