I’m not changing.

Why do I do the things I do?  Am I what is wrong with our society?  Do I indulge a little too much?  I have been called a misogynist but I have also been called a feminist.  Okay, I have actually been called a lot of things! I guess I really don’t care about labels.

When you march to the beat of your own drum be prepared for others to not get in with your rhythm!  People don’t like things that are different or divert from the norm of society.  People love to point fingers and tell you when you’re wrong but are very poor at judging themselves.  I just choose not to judge period.  It makes life so much easier!  I either like you or I don’t.  Either way you get to be who you are and I will never ask you to change.  Why would I ask anyone to change?  You should be who you are, I am who I am, so why would I oppress my assumptions onto another?  But some people like to do that.

Where am I going with this?  Well, I just think we should all be just who we are.  If you have a different view well then good for you!  I had a great, intelligent conversation over a very touchy subject with a friend online yesterday.  You know how everyone likes to be right on the internet, well this conversation did not go that way!  My friend is extremely religious, I am not.  The topic was about abortion and we were discussing both sides of this debate.  We agreed on some things and disagreed on some.  But we never tried to convince the other that they were wrong.  We just discussed our own views and took them for what they were.

Take me for what I am.  I am not trying to be something I am not, I am not trying to say I am something I am not.  I am just me.  Love me or hate me, I don’t care, just don’t expect me to change. 😉

Monique by The Average Jim