Be Who You Are

I have been told that I see things differently.  I remember my mom telling the story of how when I as a kid I always followed my own path.  I never experienced peer pressure, mostly because my friends were cool that way, but also because I never understood it.  If you don’t want to do something, don’t do it.  It’s pretty simple.

With social media being so prevalent in our society I see a whole new type of peer pressure.  The whole “follow back” thing drives me nuts.  If I don’t like your page, why would I follow it?  Just because you like what I do, or you say you like it, doesn’t mean I have to like what you do.  I follow a lot of people who don’t follow me back, so what?

It’s all about being liked, and honestly, that is overrated!  I’m stoked that people dig what I do and the images I create, that is awesome!  But if you’re just following me because you want me to follow you to make you feel better about yourself, go away now!  I’m not here to make you feel all better about yourself.  That is your job, not mine or anybody else’s!

Now my clients, I am here to make them feel good about themselves, but not under false pretenses.  They don’t ask me to follow them back, and not all of them follow me.  I’m good with that.  We have a good healthy respect for one another.  And respect is always better than someone who pretends to like you just to get your attention. 😉

Robyn by The Average Jim