The Advantaged Jim ;)

I’ve had many different ideas over the years and I have been told many times that these ideas would just never work in a business model.  But then a few years ago, maybe more I decided to throw caution to the wind and stop listening to everyone else.  I remember my first real year as a working photographer.  I shot models for their portfolios, cars for a magazine, my friend’s girlfriend(s) for boudoir sessions and I also shot weddings and engagement sessions.  Honestly it was everything that I still shoot today!  So what happened in the in-between?

During this in-between time I was told how I could not blend all of these different types of work in one business, but nobody seemed to have an issue with it so why should I?  Well, fast forward to the digital boom in photography and what do you know, suddenly everyone was a photographer.  So this is when people started “specializing”, at least with their websites.  You had to have a wedding site for weddings, a fashion site for fashion, a commercial site for commercial and a boudoir site for boudoir photography.  It was such a waste of time and money!

This is why I decided to just put it all out there on one site.  If someone is offended that I shoot boudoir or fashion when they want a wedding photographer then I guess they’re not my client.  The reason I say this is because I am a photographer.  I don’t just shoot one thing, I shoot several different styles and they all blend together!  No matter if you’re wearing a wedding dress or nothing at all, I still capture life the way I see it.

I will be adding my new portrait project on this site soon too.  It is completely different from a lot of my other work, but yet it still looks like my work.  Hence I have a style when I shoot and that is what matters to me.  I am a part of my community and I am not going to pretend to be something I am not.  People can either accept this or not, but I don’t have the time to run 5 different sites just to try to make a living.  I’m too busy shooting, editing, writing, and just enjoying the wonderful life I have here in Ventura!

I saw a movie yesterday where a photographer said something like this, being an artist is not just about doing the work, you must defend it.  People will criticize and will run you down, especially when you do something outside of the norm or just a little different from what everyone else is doing.  I am ready for that criticism, I have been getting it most of my life.  I see things differently from everyone else, but shouldn’t that be considered an advantage as a photographer?  I think it is.

Kara by The Average Jim