It’s All The Same

There is a certain freedom when I shoot fashion editorials.  I get to be creative, I get to explore the different ideas in my head and I get to do all of this without limitations or constraint.  Plus, my boudoir clients tend to love these images and it relates back to my portrait work.

Since most of my boudoir clients don’t want their images plastered all over the internet I use my editorial work to push my boundaries as a photographer.  I get to come up with new ideas, quite often have them published and then I can post them on my site and advertise my style while still maintaining my client’s privacy.  It really is a win-win situation.

I’m not going to lie, I do like the attention these editorials get me, even if it really isn’t that much attention.  But what it does do for me is it keeps me fresh.  It keeps me moving forward and therefore I am never content in shooting the same thing over and over.  I like new, even if it looks old, it is new.  It’s my style.  This is why I shoot as much as I do and why I mix my fashion work with my portrait and wedding work.  Honestly, I see how they all blend together.  Some photographers don’t see this and they think you have to shoot all of them separately and have different styles.  Not me.  I have one way of shooting and that is what makes me who I am as a photographer.

I don’t care if it’s weddings, boudoir, fine art nudes or fashion editorial, I shoot the way I see the world.  And I am loving every minute of it!

Kara by The Average Jim